Master of Science (Five Years Integrated Programme in Chemistry)
from the Indian Institute of Technology (I.I.T.) Kanpur - 1985

Ph.D. from the Tata Institute of Fundamental Research (T.I.F.R.), Mumbai, India, 1990


National Merit Certificate
( for meritorious performance in the school leaving examination ) - 1978

National Talent Search Scholarship
( 1978 - 1985 )

General Proficiency Prize from the Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur ( 1985 ) :
Awarded to the ``Best Outgoing Student in the Masters degree (five years integrated programme in Chemistry) for the year''

Associate Member of the International Centre for Theoretical Physics, Trieste, Italy ( 1995 - 2000 ).

Awarded the B.M. Birla Prize for Physics, 1998
(The B M Birla prizes are awarded to Indian scientists, below the age of 40 years, who have made outstanding original contributions in their fields.)

Elected Fellow of the Indian Academy of Sciences, Bangalore ( 2010 )


Editor of Chaos
(an Interdisciplinary Journal of Nonlinear Science, published by American Institute of Physics)

Member of the International Board of the International Physics and Control Society (IPACS)