## Satellite conference on operator algebras (to ICM 2010)

This concerns a satellite conference on Operator Algebras that will be held in Chennai just before ICM 2010 (slated for Hyderabad). The dates for the conference are August 9-13, 2010; and the venue is 'The Institute of Mathematical Sciences' in Chennai.

The following people have consented to serve on the programme organising committee:

- 1. Joachim Cuntz
- 2. Uffe Haagerup
- 3. Masaki Izumi
- 4. Vaughan Jones
- 5. Yasuyuki Kawahigashi
- 6. Matilde Marcolli
- 7. Gilles Pisier
- 8. Sorin Popa
- 9. Jonathan Rosenberg
- 10. Dmitri Shlyakhtenko
- 11. Georges Skandalis
- 12. V.S. Sunder
- 13. Dan Voiculescu

The proposed plan is to devote each of the five days of the workshop to one of the sub-disciplines in operator algebras listed below:

- (a) free probability (10,13)
- (b) von Neumann algebras and ergodic theory (8)
- (c) non-commutative geometry (1,6,9,11)
- (d) operator spaces (2,7)
- (e) subfactors (3,4,5,8)

The numbers at the end of each line above indicate the members of a sub-committee of the programme committee, which will be responsible for the programme for the day devoted to that sub-discipline. The role of no. 12 will be primarily to collate the inputs of these five sub-committees and subsequently initiate correspondence with the proposed speakers.