## The Institute of Mathematical Sciences CIT Campus, Chennai 600113

## Subhashis Nag Memorial Endowment Lecture

The Institute of Mathematical Sciences, Chennai, welcomes you for the Nag Memorial Lecture to be held as per details given below:

Speaker: Professor Kaushal Verma

Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru

Title: Three introductions to complex variables

Date & time: **22nd January, 2018 at 16:30hrs**Venue: **Ramanujan Auditorium, IMSc.** 

**Abstract:** The purpose of this talk will be to introduce some basic ideas in several complex variables by discussing three different paradigms within the discipline.

**About the speaker** Professor Kaushal Verma received his PhD from Indiana University, Bloomington, in 1999. He has made many deep contributions in sevaral complex variables and analytic spaces. He was awarded the S S Bhatnagar prize for the year 2014. He was elected Fellow of the Indian Academy of Sciences, in 2015.

He will be in residence at the Institute from 21st to 25th January, 2018.

About The Subhashis Nag Memorial Endowment Lectures Subhashis Nag Memorial Endowment Lectures was instituted in the year 2002 through the generous contribution of Mrs. Sutapa Nag, widow of Subhashis Nag. It aims to promote research in mathematical sciences by inviting to the Institute of Mathematical Sciences, Chennai, an eminent mathematical scientist, one each year, to deliver a series of lectures. The first of these lectures is designated the Subhashis Nag Memorial Endowment Lecture.

About Prof. Subhashis Nag Professor Subhashis Nag was born on 14th August 1955. He obtained his Ph.D. from Cornell University, New York. He joined the Institute of Mathematical Sciences, Chennai, in 1991. He worked in the area of complex analytic geometry, particularly, Teichmüller theory and its relations to string theory. He won the coveted S.S.Bhatnagar award but, unfortunately, he died, in December 1998, before the actual award ceremony was held.

List of previous speakers: Dennis P. Sullivan (2002), Ashoke Sen (2003 & 2017), Clifford Earle (2004), Bernard de Wit (2005), M. S. Narasimhan (2007), Robert C. Penner (2008), Rajesh Gopakumar (2009), Georg Schumacher (2010), Sunil Mukhi (2011), Mahan Mj (2012), Jacques C. Hurtubise (2013), Samir Mathur (2014), and Christopher T. Woodward (2016).

**Contact:** Parameswaran Sankaran Institute of Mathematical Sciences

Chennai 600113

email: sankaran@imsc.res.in