Text Size

  • Increase
  • Decrease
  • Normal

Current Size: 100%

Printer-friendly version

Rahul Basu Memorial Award

Rahul Basu Memorial Award for Best Thesis in any area of High Energy Physics

About the award:

This award is instituted in memory of the late Prof. Rahul Basu, one of India's leading High Energy physicists and a warm and enthusiastic member of the HEP community whose presence is greatly missed. The award, coordinated through the Indian Physics Association, will be given for the two most outstanding Ph.D. theses from India, across all areas of High Energy Physics (theoretical and experimental), during a 2-year period starting from September 1 of each even year. To be eligible for the 2012 award, the thesis should have been accepted with a Provisional Degree Certificate from a recognised university, dated between September 1, 2010 and August 31, 2012.

The winners, to be selected by an expert committee, will receive a cash prize (currently Rs 10,000) and a citation. The awards will be presented at the DAE symposium in High Energy Physics. The 2012 award (the first one) will be given at the DAE symposium to be held in January 2013.

Nomination procedure:

Nominations for this award are invited from faculty members working in any aspect of High Energy Physics at a university or research institute. They should write to rahul.basu.award@gmail.com providing the name and email address of the nominee, and a brief (one paragraph) description of the nominee's work. The name of the nominee should also appear in the Subject line of this email.

Thereafter the award committee will contact the nominee to submit his/her thesis, along with a detailed CV including list of publications and a copy of the Provisional Degree Certificate. The nominee will be asked to request two referees (one of whom can be the nominator) to write directly to the same email address in support of the nomination. In all communications, the nominee's name should appear in the Subject line.

Winners will be selected by an expert committee whose decision will be final.


The last date to receive nominations will be October 15, 2012. Short-listed nominees may be contacted later on by the expert committee and asked to provide additional details as required.

Award ceremony:

The winners will be invited to receive the award at a ceremony during the DAE Symposium in HEP, to be held at Visva-Bharati, Santiniketan from January 13-18, 2013 and to deliver a seminar on their thesis work at the award ceremony. Those who cannot attend in person may be allowed to deliver the talk over the internet.
Neelima Gupte, Sunanda Banerjee, Rohini Godbole, Sourendu Gupta, Bedanga Mohanty, Sunil Mukhi


Aug 20 - Room 327 Complexity theory reading group by -
Aug 20 - Room 327 Type theory by Kamal Lodaya
Aug 21 - Alladi Ramakrishnan Hall An Improved Deterministic #SAT Algorithm for Small De Morgan Formulas by Nitin Saurabh
Aug 21 - Room 117 Usefulness of entanglement in quantum channel discrimination by Sibasish Ghosh
Aug 21 - Alladi Ramakrishnan Hall Classification of Discrete series by lowest K type by R. Parthasarathy
Aug 25 - Alladi Ramakrishnan Hall Some Developments in Computation of Quantum Entropy of Extremal Black Hole by Rajesh Gupta