Text Size

  • Increase
  • Decrease
  • Normal

Current Size: 100%

Printer-friendly version

Academic Calendar for Maths and TCS, 2012-2013

S.No. Date Details
1. Friday,August 3, 2012 Admission of fresh entrants
2. Monday,August 6, 2012 Instruction starts for Semester I
3. Monday,October 1 -
Friday, October 5, 2012
Mid-term examinations
4. Monday,December 3 -
Friday, December 7, 2012
End-semester examinations
5. Monday,December 31, 2012 Instruction starts for Semester II
6. Monday,February 25 -
Friday, March 1, 2013
Mid-term examinations
7. Monday,April 29 -
Friday, May 3, 2013
End-semester examinations

Note:

  • There are no mid-semester breaks.
  • Six monthly Doctoral Committee meetings should be held for all Maths Ph.D students during October-December and April-June and for TCS Ph.D students during January-February and July-August.
  • M.Sc. thesis viva-voice examinations should be held during May-June.

Seminars

May 25 - Alladi Ramakrishnan Hall Rocks, rivers, and sand: simple models of complex systems by Deepak Dhar
May 26 - Alladi Ramakrishnan Hall Partitions with an odd number of standard tableaux by Amritanshu Prasad
May 26 - Alladi Ramakrishnan Hall Directional Accuracy in a Model of Gradient Signaling during Yeast Mating by Rati Sharma
May 27 - Alladi Ramakrishnan Hall Kernel machine learning for statistical inference of observables across chemical compound space by Dr. Raghunathan Ramakrishnan
May 27 - Alladi Ramakrishnan Hall Melting of three-sublattice order in easy-axis antiferromagnets on triangular and kagome lattices by Kedar Damle
May 28 - Alladi Ramakrishnan Hall Phase transitions in systems of hard anisotropic particles on lattices by Joyjit Kundu (Thesis Viva)