Text Size

  • Increase
  • Decrease
  • Normal

Current Size: 100%

Printer-friendly version

Academic Calendar 2011-12

Six monthly Academic Calendar 2011-2012
Physical Sciences 
First Semester (August 2011 - January 2012)

Friday, July 29, 2011           Admission of fresh entrants
Monday, August 1, 2011          Instruction starts for all classes
Monday, September 26 -          Mid-term examinations
Friday, September 30, 2011
Monday, November 28 -             
Friday, December 2, 2011        End-semester examinations
Saturday, December 4, 2010 -      
Sunday, January 2, 2011         Semester Holidays
Second Semester (January 2012 - April 2012)
Monday, January 2, 2012         Institute reopens; instruction starts
Monday, February 20 -           Mid-term examinations
Friday, February 24, 2012
Monday, April 23 -                
Friday, April 27, 2012          End-semester examinations 
Saturday, April 28, 2012        Summer vacation begins

Note:
There are no mid-semester breaks. Six monthly Doctoral Committee
meetings should be held for all Ph.D. students during October-
December, 2011 and April-June, 2012. M.Sc. thesis viva-voice 
examinations should be held during May-June, 2012.
Mathematical Sciences (Maths and TCS for 2011-12) 
Friday, August 5, 2011         Admission of fresh entrants

Monday, August 8, 2011 Instruction starts for Semester I

Monday, September 26 -
Friday, September 30, 2011 Mid-term examinations

Monday, November 28 -
Friday, December 2, 2011 End-semester examinations

Saturday, December 3, 2011 -
Sunday, January 1, 2012 Semester Holidays

Monday, January 2, 2012 Instruction starts for Semester II

Monday, February 20 -
Friday, February 24, 2012 Mid-term examinations

Monday, April 30 -
Friday, May 4, 2012 End-semester examinations

Saturday, May 5, 2012 Summer vacation begins

Note: There are no mid-semester breaks. Six monthly Doctoral Committee meetings should be held for all Maths Ph.D students during October-
December
& April-June. For TCS Ph.D students during January-February and July-August. M.Sc. thesis viva-voice examinations should be held during May-June.
 

Seminars

Sep 24 - Room 327 Complexity theory reading group by -
Sep 24 - Room 326 Reading course by Vikram
Sep 24 - Room 327 Type theory by Kamal Lodaya
Sep 24 - Alladi Ramakrishnan Hall Theory of stress effects on catalysis at close-packed surfaces by Tuhina A Mark
Sep 25 - Room 327 --- by ---
Sep 25 - Hall 123 Neutron Star Astronomy by Manjari Bagchi